top of page
Writer's picturePatrick Carney

Day 28: Bridger, MT to Lovell, WY

July 4th Blog

47 miles

1,246 miles so far


Happy 4th of July!!


Today’s route was a straight shot down Rt 310 South to Lovell, WY. We awoke to a light rain and cool temperatures. After breakfast in our motel room, we set out in our rain gear. We hadn’t gone more than 20 feet when Sharon said something didn’t feel right. Well, her rear tire was flat again. Guess we need to institute a pre-ride bike check! We turned around and I took off my rain jacket and gloves and got to work. This time we were able to figure out what had caused the flat. Back home we had spoken with a man who had ridden across the country years before, and he gave us a lot of helpful tips. One of those tips was to bring a pair of tweezers to remove the tiny metal wire fragments that are left on the road shoulders along with the pieces of truck tires. That’s exactly what I pulled out of Sharon’s tire. After an hours delay we finally got back on the road.


A few hours later the rain cleared and the sun began to shine. I was cruising along listening to music in good spirits when I heard my rear tire blow and immediately go flat. Evidently I had hit something I hadn’t seen in the road shoulder. So, I got to change my third flat tire in three days. While I was working, two different men pulled over to ask if I needed any tools or any help. Today’s Good Samaritans!


I think I’ve now mastered the rear tire repair - helps to loosen the rear fender before re-installing it. I don’t need anymore practice anytime soon!


We spent the night at the Horseshoe Bend Motel in Lovell. It’s an old roadside motel that has been beautifully remodeled in a new, Old West style by its new owner who relocated from Napa Valley, CA. We were entertained by an all night fireworks display courtesy of a group staying at the motel. Evidently, they’ve been coming here each of the last four years to celebrate the 4th.


Made it to Wyoming!


The culprit! Metal truck tire fragment


Rainy start to our day


Sunny skies!


Cowley... nice town along our route today


Sharon made a new friend at the Horseshoe Bend Motel


Horseshoe Bend Motel in Lovell, WY




59 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page